Soccer Odds: The future of every MLS team’s league title, more



With Charlotte F.C. join an expansion team, major league soccer expanded to 28 teams for the 2022 season (with St. Louis City SC set to join in 2023).

With the 27th season of MLS underway, let’s take a look at some betting options for the top men’s soccer league in North America.

For more, game-friendly schedules with live updates, up-to-date odds, expert analysis and the most bet games of the day, check out the MLS section on the FOX Sports app and!

FOX Sports football writer Doug McIntyre says betting on MLS is interesting because, well, you never know.

“Parity in MLS compared to European leagues still makes it extremely unpredictable. Other than that, most teams tend to fare much better at home than on the road,” McIntyre explained.

MLS teams compete for two prizes at the end of the season.

The Supporters’ Shield is awarded to the club with the best record in the regular season and the MLS Cup (the Anschutz Trophy) goes to the team that wins the post-season competition.

Historically, sweeping both in the same season has proven difficult. Since MLS began play in 1996, seven teams have won both trophies in the same season, the most recent being Toronto FC in 2017.

“I still think the best teams in the league – Seattle and Kansas City in the west, New England and Philadelphia in the east – will stay near the top of the standings,” McIntyre said. “The West has been stronger in recent years, but I really like Philly and New England this season.”

Here are the updated title odds for all MLS teams (with all odds via FOX Bet).


New England Revolution +700 (bet $10 to win $80)
Seattle Sounders +700 (bet $10 to win $110)
LAFC +800 (bet $10 to win $90)
NYCFC +1000 (bet $10 to win $110)
Sporting Kansas City +1200 (bet $10 to win $130)
Philadelphia Union +1400 (bet $10 to win $150)
THE Galaxy +1400 (bet $10 to win $150)
Colorado Rapids +1400 (bet $10 to win $150)
Nashville SC +1600 (bet $10 to win $170)
Toronto FC +1600 (bet $10 to win $170)
Portland Wood +1600 (bet $10 to win $170)
Atlanta United +2000 (bet $10 to win $210)
New York Red Bulls +2000 (bet $10 to win $210)
Minnesota United +2500 (bet $10 to win $260)
DC United +2500 (bet $10 to win $260)
Orlando City SC +2500 (bet $10 to win $260)
Columbus Crew +3300 (bet $10 to win $340)
Real Salt Lake +3300 (bet $10 to win $340)
Vancouver Whitecaps +4000 (bet $10 to win $410)
CF Montreal +5000 (bet $10 to win $510)
FC Dallas +5000 (bet $10 to win $510)
Chicago Fire +5000 (bet $10 to win $510)
Inter Miami CF +6600 (bet $10 to win $670)
Austin F.C. +6600 (bet $10 to win $670)
Charlotte FC +6600 (bet $10 to win $670)
San Jose earthquakes +8000 (bet $10 to win $810)
Houston Dynamo +10000 (bet $10 to win $1,010)
FC Cincinnati +15000 (bet $10 to win $1,510)

*Quote as of 02/03/2022

Regarding the teams that could surprise this season, McIntyre has chosen four teams:

– McIntyre said Gonzalo Pineda, in his first full season as a manager, stabilized Atlanta United. The 2018 MLS Cup champion made a huge addition in the offseason, signing Thiago Almada, a 20-year-old Argentine attacking midfielder, for an MLS record transfer fee of $16 million.

– Toronto FC signed former US men’s national coach Bob Bradley just before Thanksgiving, and Lorenzo Insigne, captain of Serie A club Napoli, will join Toronto on July 1 on a mid-season transfer.

– The Galaxy will get a boost from former Juventus midfielder Douglas Costa, who should pair well with striker Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernandez, who scored 17 goals in 21 appearances last season.

–LAFC captain Carlos Vela showed he’s back after scoring a hat trick in 21 minutes against Colorado on Saturday. Forward Cristian Arango scored 14 goals in 17 appearances last season after joining LAFC in August from Colombia and is McIntyre’s choice to win the Golden Boot this season.

McIntyre predicts that Arango will win the Golden Boot. For top goaltender, Nashville’s Joe Willis is McIntyre’s secret pick over LAFC’s Maxime Crepeau and Philadelphia’s Andre Blake.

For MVP, McIntyre said Hany Mukhtar of Nashville, Xherdan Shaqiri of Chicago and Daniel Salloi of Sporting KC will be good candidates.

Here are the last 10 winners of the MLS Cup:

FC New York 2021
2020 Columbus Crew
Seattle Sounders 2019
2018 Atlanta United F.C.
FC Toronto 2017 *
2016 Seattle Sounders
Portland Wood 2015
Los Angeles Galaxy 2014
2013 Sporting K.C.
Los Angeles Galaxy 2012

Here are the last 10 Supporters Shield winners:

New England Revolution 2021
Philadelphia Union 2020
FC Los Angeles 2019
New York Red Bulls 2018
FCToronto 2017
2016 FC Dallas
New York Red Bulls 2015
Seattle Pollsters 2014
New York Red Bulls 2013
2012 San Jose earthquakes

* = MLS Cup and Swept Supporters Shield

If you want to throw a few bucks at who will be hoisting the Anschutz Trophy, be sure to head over to FOX bet to place your bets.

Play FOX Super 6 every week for a chance to win thousands of dollars every week. Simply download the Super 6 app and take your pick today!

Get more MLS Follow your favorites for game insights, news and more.

Source link


Comments are closed.