Rhea Ripley, Nikki ASH win WWE Women’s Tag Team Championship on Raw



Rhea Ripley and Nikki ASH became the 11th team to hold the WWE Women’s Tag Team Championship after beating Natalya and Tamina on Raw.

    Rhea Ripley and Nikki ASH celebrate after winning the WWE Women's Tag Team Championship on the September 20 edition of WWE RAW

This week’s edition of Raw not only featured WWE Universal Champion Roman Reigns in his first appearance on WWE’s flagship schedule since 2019 … it also featured a title change. Rhea Ripley and Nikki ASH became the 11th team to hold the WWE Women’s Tag Team Championship when they beat defending champions Tamina and Nataya in Game 6 of the show.

The 130-day reign of the dynastic duo Nataya and Tamina has come to an end. The pair won the title from Shayna Baszler and Nia Jax on an episode of SmackDown in May. Interestingly, Jax and Baszler faced off this week on Raw, with Baszler taking a huge victory over his former partner.


SUBSCRIBE: The Sportster Wrestling newsletter

Tonight’s victory makes Nikki Cross the first woman to hold the WWE Women’s Title on three occasions. As you may recall, she’s already held gold on two occasions alongside Alexa Bliss, before Nikki was almost a superhero and Alexa was… what she is now.

The unlikely partnership between Nikki and Ripley has proven to be a formidable force in the WWE Women’s Division. Both women recently held the Raw Women’s Championship and both recently lost the Raw Women’s Championship to Charlotte Flair. Rhea Ripley defeated Asuka for the title at WrestleMania in April but lost the title to Charlotte at Money In The Bank in July. Charlotte lost the tile to Nikki the following night on Raw after the latter cashed in the Money In The Bank briefcase she had won the night before. Charlotte went on to win the title against Nikki when she beat Rhea and Nikki in a triple threat match at SummerSlam last month.

They may not be looking for the Raw Women’s Championship anymore, but Rhea and Nikki can now add another reign to their resume.

WWE failed at women’s tag team championship

From Sasha Banks and Bayley to Alexa Bliss and Nikki Cross, WWE has tried a number of women’s tag team champions and failed them all.

Read more

About the Author

Source link


Comments are closed.