Pakistan hope to make their presence felt at the World Team Championship


karachi: A three-member Pakistani team led by the country’s top golfer, Omar Khalid, hopes to make its presence felt in the prestigious World Amateur Team Golf Championship which kicks off in Paris, France from Wednesday (today). ).

Omar, 18, will be joined by Salman Jahangir and Yashal Shah in Pakistan’s squad for the World Tag Team Championship where 72 nations will compete for the coveted Eisenhower Trophy.

The Pakistani team flew from Lahore on August 28 to reach Paris late on Sunday. The players took part in two practice rounds on Monday and Tuesday.

Omar, an A-level student from Nixor College in Karachi, is currently Pakistan’s top amateur in the world rankings. Lahore’s Salman is the most experienced player in the team and is currently ranked No.2 in Pakistan. Yashal, also 18, is also a student in Karachi and is ranked No. 3.

The four-day championship will be played at the iconic Golf National (Albatros Course) and Le Golf de Saint-Nom-la-Bretèche (Red Course) from August 31 to September 3. France will host the Paris Olympique golf competitions in 2024 at Le Golf National, which is considered one of the most difficult courses in the world.

Organized by the International Golf Federation (IGF), the World Amateur Team Championships are a biennial international amateur golf competition. Women compete for the Espirito Santo Trophy and men compete for the Eisenhower Trophy. The men’s Eisenhower Trophy competition features 72 teams, equaling records set in Turkey in 2010 and Ireland in 2018.

Each team consists of two or three players, who each play 18 holes in stroke play over four days. In each round, the total of each team’s two lowest scores constitutes the team’s score for the round. The total of four days (72 holes) is the team’s score for the championship.

The competition was canceled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and was therefore last played at Carton House, Ireland in September 2018.

The World Amateur Team Championships were held at Le Golf National in 1994, with American teams winning both the men’s and women’s championships. Team members included 15-time major winner Tiger Woods, two-time USA Curtis Cup team captain Sarah Ingram, and seven-time USGA champion Carol Semple Thompson.

Prominent players who have participated include Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Colin Morikawa (USA), Rory McIlroy (Ireland), Sergio Garcia, (Spain), Vijay Singh (Fiji), Colin Montgomerie, Paul Casey and Luke Donald ( GB&I), (GB&I), Camilo Villegas (Colombia), Charl Schwartzel and Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Eduardo and Francesco Molinari (Italy) and Martin Kaymer (Germany).

After hosting the Ryder Cup, the biggest team competition in golf for professional players, at Le Golf National in 2018, France has been selected to host WATC 2022 on the same course, with the co-host course, Golf de Saint-Nom-la – Breteche. France has already hosted two editions of the WATC – in 1994 at the Golf National and the Golf de la Boulie (men’s and women’s events) and in 1964 at the Golf de Saint-Germain (women’s inaugural event).

Here is the list of teams participating in the World Championship: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark (reigning champions) , Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Guam, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Islamic Republic of Iran, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Lebanon, Lithuania , Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Wales and Zimbabwe.

Source link


Comments are closed.