Pakistan confirms participation in World Team Squash Championship



KARACHI: After skipping the 2019 edition, Pakistan have confirmed their participation in the 2021 edition of the WSF World Team Squash Championships which will be played in Kuala Lumpur from December 7 to 12.

The World Squash Federation (WSF) confirmed on Wednesday that 27 teams (the most since 2013) including Pakistan will play in this year’s championship.

The teams are Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kuwait, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland and United States.

Five-time winner Egypt are the favorites to defend their crown for the third tournament in a row, the country boasting seven of the top ten players in the world, including world No.1 Ali Farag.

The most likely rivals for the crown are five-time winner England, who will be eager to reclaim the title they last won in 2013, and France, who are looking for a very first championship.

The hosts of Malaysia are also chasing their maiden title. They will enter the tournament hoping to build on two outings in the round of 16 and a quarter-final in their last three tournaments.

Note that Pakistan six times have not won any title since 1993. In 2019, the Pakistan Squash Federation (PSF) decided not to send the national team to the championship.

The reason for not sending the team to the championship was the poor results of domestic players at the international level for a long time.

It is relevant to mention here that Pakistan won the World Team Championships in 1977, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1987 and 1993.

Source link


Comments are closed.