NJPW Strong Announces New Openweight Tag Team Championship Tournament



NJPW Global has announced that it will be introducing new NJPW Strong Openweight Tag Team Championships this summer.

The new tag titles will be determined by an eight-team tournament, beginning June 19, with the final on July 24.

This announcement comes ahead of this Sunday’s NJPW Dominion and while no entrants have yet been announced, it will no doubt feature some familiar names.

With the AEW and NJPW Forbidden Door PPV taking place on June 26, the NJPW roster will be in the United States when the tournament takes place.

It’s unclear if Bullet Club’s IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champions Chase Owens and Bad Luck Fale will enter the tournament, but they must first face United Empire’s Jeff Cobb and Great-O-Khan at Dominion.

Team Filthy’s Royce Isaacs and Jorel Nelson will be in contention, as will United Empire’s Australian Open, Kyle Fletcher and Mark Davis, but the new champions might as well come from outside of NJPW.

AEW and IMPACT wrestlers appear regularly in NJPW, most recently when AEW Pure Ring Of Honor Champion Wheeler Yuta and IMPACT Wrestling X-Division Champion Ace Austin both appeared in Best Of Super Juniors 29 .

Jon Moxley, Jonathan Gresham, Josh Alexander, Killer Kross, Eddie Kingston, and Swerve Strickland have all participated in NJPW Strong events. Moxley, in particular, often spoke of his love of New Japan.

The tournament begins in Vermont, Hollywood, on June 19.

Source link


Comments are closed.