LS Boys Win Tag Team Championship in 1A State Qualifying Meet


May 18—CORYDON — A strong showing in the field events and a dominating effort in the relays propelled the Lynnville-Sully men’s track team to a championship Thursday.

The Hawks won a pair of relays and finished second five times in the Class 1A state qualifying competition at Wayne High School.

Lynnville-Sully scored 117 points to win the title. The Hawks were 12 points ahead of Mount Ayr and Lamoni (92), North Mahaska (90) and Southeast Warren (70) rounded out the top five.

“Absolutely amazing for this group of 19 young men to put in the effort, focus, preparation and determination to be able to win the title of State Qualifying Meet Champion,” the boys’ head coach said. of the LS, Darin Arkema.

The Hawks’ lone individual win came in the shot put. Kyle Squires won the event and earned an automatic spot in state competition after a career-best throw of 45-foot-3.

The winner of each event at each State 1A Qualifier qualifies for the State meet and the next 14 best times, marks and distances earn general offers.

For the Hawks, they had three car deals in total and five seats overall.

They won the 4×100 and 4×200 relays.

In the 4×100, Squires, Ryan Annee, Josh Hardenbrook and Corder Noun Harder won the race in 44.7 seconds.

The 4×200 team included Noun Harder, Annee, Hardenbrook and Conner Maston and they finished first in 1 minute 33.5 seconds.

“The 4×100 group did exactly the right thing but made sure the steps and markers were good for the baton to go around the track,” Arkema said. “We knew they were going to run fast, they just needed a clean rally. Great for them to get the win and get back to the blue oval after competing up there for Drake.”

LS also qualified for the state meet in the 4×400 and sprint medley relays.

The 4×400 team of Hardenbrook, Noun Harder, James Gruver and Maston finished second in a season best 3:29.91.

The medley sprint quartet of Squires, Noun Harder, Hardenbrook and Maston finished second in 1:37.93.

The Shuttle Obstacle Relay also placed second but did not advance to the State Meet. That foursome was Gruver, Bryce Richards, Aidan Stock and Austin Larson and they finished in 1:09.65.

The Hawks won three other state offers. These all came in an individual event.

Annee placed second in the long jump jumping 20-7 1/4, Gruver was second in the 400 hurdles with a season best 56.93 and Maston was third in the 400m in 52 ,35. All three won general state bids.

“Our first priority entering the competition was to place the guys in places that would hopefully get the most events at the state meet and/or have the best chance of placing at the state meet. State,” Arkema said. “And while we only knew about three things that automatically qualified as event winners, we ended the night feeling really good about several other event chances based on how the guys performed and what things looked like.”

Zach Morningstar recorded a pair of top fives. He finished third in the 3,200m with a time of 11:31.92 and fifth in the 1,600m with a career best 5:07.60.

Mason Rodibaugh (108-5) was fourth in discus, Annee (season best 24.43) and Stock (12.53) were both fifth in the 200 and 100, respectively.

Richards and Larson gave the Hawks double points in the 200m and 400m hurdles, respectively. They both finished sixth with times of 25.25 and 1:07.86.

After Southeast Warren in fifth, the rest of the team standings included Seymour (59), East Union (45), Melcher-Dallas (42), Wayne (37), Moravia (30), Morman Trail (16) and Murray ( 15) .

The Iowa High School State Track and Field Championships inside Drake Stadium in Des Moines will begin Thursday and run through Saturday.

The Class 1A portion of the competition takes part in morning sessions on Thursday and Friday.

The Hawks could make a lot of noise in the state meet. The 4×400 and 4×200 relays place in the top five in 1A and the 4×100 and sprint medley relays place in the top 10.

Annee is currently fifth in the long jump and Maston’s time in the 400 ranks in the top 10.

Source link


Comments are closed.