LIV Golf Team Championship Grounds, Teams and Prize Money



The last event of the first LIV Golf the season takes place at Trump National Doral in Florida with a Knockout Tag Team Championship offering a $50 million scholarship.

At the last regular event of the season in Jeddah, Brooks Koepka won the individual competition to help Smash GC to their first victory in the tag team competition as the teams jostled for position in the standings ahead of the seeded final. Smash GC starts the event seeded fifth, while Saudi Arabia’s second-place finisher Sergio Garcia’s Fireballs GC are seeded third behind Dustin Johnson. GC 4 As and Bryson DeChambeau GC crushers.

Video: What is LIV Golf?

Four teams of 12 will compete in the event with $16 million offered to the winning team to be shared among its members, with $8 million awarded to the runner-up. As Johnson’s GC 4 Aces head into the tournament in the strongest position, there are a few big names in a field that have two changes from the previous event.

Japanese player Hideto Tanihara is absent despite taking part in five of the seven tournaments this season. After representing GC iron heads at the season opener in London, Tanihara joined Torque GC and team captain in Portland and Bedminster. However, after a 17th place in the individual event at pumpkin cresthe broke that promise and finished a modest 34th in Jeddah.

Video: What is LIV Golf?

Perhaps even more unfortunate to miss the final is South African Shaun Norris, who has played in all seven previous events. Norris had represented StingerGC in the previous three tournaments after starting the season with 4 Aces GC. He also played for Crushers GC in Portland and Bedminster. However, like Tanihara, his recent performances have been disappointing and he finished 44th in Saudi Arabia.

Adrian Oteagua, whose sensational victory in the DP World Tour Andalucia Masters clearly did not go unnoticed, come back for the final. The Spaniard joins Torque GC after playing for them in London and Boston. The other returning player is South African Hennie Du Plessis who is on Stinger GC. Du Plessis made an impressive start to his career at LIV Golf, finishing second in the individual event in London. He followed that up with finishes of 33rd at Portland and 44th at Bedminster.

The field features four former world number ones, including Johnson and Lee Westwood, while a total of 22 Majors have been won among the 48 players on the field. The top 36 players in the individual standings, who have played at least four tournaments, qualify for the Tag Team Championship, with league commitments and captain’s selections determining the rest of the field.

LIV Golf CEO Greg Norman said, “LIV Golf has revived the sport in record time during our beta testing season. LIV players celebrate the team format that brings the new energy and audience to golf the game deserves. It is only fitting that we greet this historic year with a spectacular and innovative team championship that will propel us into a team-oriented league from 2023.”

After the final, LIV Golf is set to confirm its 2023 schedule in November, with the competition expanding to a 14-tournament league with promotion and relegation. It will feature 12 teams each led by an established captain who will have the chance to build their team franchise to gain the most fans and sponsor interest.

Below is the full field, team and prize money breakdown for the LIV Golf Team Championship.

LIV Golf Team Championship – Field

  • Abraham Ancer
  • Adrian Otaegui
  • Anirban Lahiri
  • Bernd Wiesberger
  • Branden Grace
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Bryson De Chambeau
  • Cameron Smith
  • Cameron Tringale
  • carlos ortiz
  • Charles Schwartzel
  • Charles Howell III
  • Chase Koepka
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Eugenio Chacarra
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Harold Varner III
  • Henri du Plessis
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Ian Poulter
  • James Piot
  • Jason Kokrak
  • jediah morgan
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Kevin Na
  • Laurie Canter
  • Lee Westwood
  • Louis Oosthuizen
  • Marc Leishman
  • Martin Kaymer
  • matt jones
  • Matthew Wolff
  • Pat Perez
  • Patrick Roseau
  • Paul Casey
  • Peter Uihlein
  • Phachara Khongwatmai
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Richard Bland
  • Sadom Kaewkanjana
  • Sam Horsfield
  • Scott Vincent
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Sihwan Kim
  • Talor Gooch
  • Turkish Small
  • Wade Ormsby

LIV Golf Team Championship – Teams

  • 4 Aces GC – Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Talor Gooch, Pat Perez
  • Hy Flyers GC – Phil Mickelson, Bernd Wiesberger, Matthew Wolff, Cameron Tringale
  • Punch GC – Cameron Smith, Marc Leishman, Matt Jones, Wade Ormsby,
  • Cleeks GC – Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell, Laurie Canter, Richard Bland
  • Iron Heads GC – Kevin Na, Sadom Kaewkanjana, Phachara Khongwatmai, Sihwan Kim
  • Smash GC – Brooks Koepka, Jason Kokrak, Peter Uihlein, Chase Koepka
  • GC Crushers – Bryson DeChambeau, Paul Casey, Charles Howell III, Anirban Lahiri,
  • Majesticks GC – Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Henrik Stenson, Sam Horsfield
  • Stinger GC – Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Branden Grace, Hennie Du Plessis
  • GC Fireballs – Sergio Garcia, Abraham Ancer, Carlos Ortiz, Eugenio Chacarra
  • Niblicks GC – Bubba Watson (non-playing captain), Harold Varner III, Hudson Swafford, James Piot, Turk Pettit
  • Torque GC – Joaquin Niemann, Scott Vincent, Adrian Otaegui, Jediah Morgan

LIV Golf Team Championship – Prize Money

1st $16 million
2nd $8 million
3rd $6 million
4th $4 million
5th $3 million
6th $3 million
7th $3 million
8th $3 million
9th $1 million
10th $1 million
11th $1 million
12th $1 million

Source link


Comments are closed.