Bill introduced to designate April 18, 2022 as National Amateur Radio Operators Day




Arizona Congressman Debbie lesko reintroduced a resolution with bipartisan support to designate April 18, 2022 as National Amateur Radio Operators Day. Introduced on April 19, the measure recognizes the important contributions of amateur radio operators. She introduced a similar bill to the last Congress.

“Throughout history, amateur radio operators have provided invaluable services to our communities,” Lesko said in a press release. “I am proud to resubmit this resolution to honor the important contributions of amateur radio operators in Arizona and across our country. Amateur radio brought people together and provided essential emergency communications during natural disasters. Amateur radio is an essential part of our country’s communications infrastructure.

Lesko said she was originally approached to present the resolution at the last Congress by Raymond Anderson, then 12-year-old N7KCB of Peoria, Arizona.

As Lesko’s resolution notes, the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) designates World Amateur Radio Day every April 18 to recognize the founding of IARU in 1925. She said her resolution would recognize the community. radio amateurs with a national day in the United States. . The resolution cites the Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES®) for providing “invaluable emergency communications services in the aftermath of recent natural disasters, including, but not limited to, helping to coordinate efforts to disaster relief following Hurricanes Katrina, Wilma and Maria and other extreme weather disasters. “

ARRL President Rick Roderick, K5UR, welcomed the initiative. “The voluntary contributions of some 774,000 American amateur radio operators in support of the critical communications infrastructure of the United States are seldom recognized,” said Roderick. “MP Lesko’s resolution is an important first step in correcting this oversight. On behalf of the members of the ARRL and all amateur radio operators, I congratulate Congressman Lesko for her support of amateur radio and her leadership in the deserved recognition of the 106+ years of substantial influence of amateur radio on the development of modern communications.

Lesko was joined by members of both sides as original co-sponsors of the resolution. The list includes representatives Robert Aderholt of Alabama; Julia Brownley from California; Kat Cammack from Florida; Paul Gosar of Arizona; Glenn Grothman, of Wisconsin; Vicky Hartzler of Missouri; Ashley Hinson of Iowa; Chris Jacobs from New York; Kaiali’i Kahele from Hawaii; Mike Kelly from Pennsylvania; Doug LaMalfa from California and Daniel Webster from Florida.

Source link


Comments are closed.