2018 World Radiosport Team Championship to be held in Germany




The next World Radio Team Championship (WRTC) will take place in Germany in 2018. The WRTC Sanction Committee announcement October 5 that she had granted the request of a group representing the Deutscher Amateur Radio Club (DARC), the Bavarian Contest Club (BCC) and the Rhein Ruhr DX Association (RRDXA) to organize what is often referred to as the “Amateur Radio Olympics”. In July German participants of WRTC-2014 in New England have launched a petition, urging the WRTC sanction committee to designate Germany as the site of the next international competition between elite teams of amateur radio competitors.

“The The German bid was very well prepared and, knowing their experience, we all expect another exceptional meeting and competition between the best competitors in the world, ”said WRTC Sanction Committee Chair Tine Brajnik, S50A, in a statement. message posted on the CQ contest reflector. He added that the committee would publish information regarding the qualification process. It is not known whether the committee considered other nominations.

Last year, with preparations still underway for WRTC-2014, the WRTC Sanctions Committee appealed to WRTC-2018 sponsors, stressing the importance of giving the community of competitors “as much time as possible to prepare for each event”. The sanction committee assesses requests to host a WRTC and selects the winning candidate. An announcement regarding the WRTC-2018 location was expected during the WRTC-2014 closing ceremony, but no formal proposal had been received at this point.

A World Radio Sport Team Championship consists of around 50 two-person amateur radio teams competing against each other in an operational skills test. The event takes place at the same time as the IARU HF Championship in July, although the rules for WRTC differ from those for the IARU event. All stations use identical antennas and power level and operate from equivalent sites in the same geographic area with the aim of eliminating all variables except operating capacity. WRTC-2014 featured 59 competing teams from 29 qualified regions across the world.

The first WRTC took place in 1990 in Seattle at the same time as the Goodwill Games. Subsequent events took place in San Francisco (1996), Bled, Slovenia (2000), Helsinki, Finland (2002), Florianopolis, Brazil (2006), Moscow, Russia (2010) and New England (2014).

In addition to Brajnik, members of the WRTC Sanctions Committee include Ward Silver, N0AX; Dan Eskenazi, K7SS; Bob Cox, K3EST; Rusty Epps, W6OAT; Martti Laine, OH2BH; Jukka Kulha, OH2MA; Atilano Oms, PY5EG; Sergio Almeida, PP5JR; Harry Booklan, RA3AUU, and Roman Thomas, RZ3AA. – Thanks to Daily DX

Source link


Comments are closed.